K rock Football

Captains go cold on premiers

The Western Bulldogs celebrate winning the 2018 AFLW premiership. (AAP Image/Hamish Blair)

RIVAL AFLW captains have gone cold on reigning premiers the Western Bulldogs.

Not one of the other nine captains nominated the Bulldogs when asked which team they expected to face in this season’s grand final.

The captains were polled for Wednesday’s season launch, with the third AFLW season to start on Saturday.

Inaugural premiers Adelaide and expansion team North Melbourne, who have recruited heavily, were the popular picks with three votes apiece.

GWS were next with two, while last season’s losing grand finalists Brisbane and Melbourne scored one vote.

Last season, only one captain correctly picked the Bulldogs to make the grand final.

Bulldogs co-captain Ellie Blackburn was the standout tip to win the league’s best and fairest award with four votes, two ahead of Adelaide co-captain Erin Phillips.

The Crows key forward also scored four votes for who would kick the most goals.

Geelong’s No.1 draft pick Nina Morrison was the popular choice to win the Rising Star award with four votes.

Collingwood recruit and former Australian netballer Ash Brazill polled four votes for a player from another sport who would do best in the AFLW.

© AAP 2019


Which other team apart from your own is most likely to reach the Grand Final?
3 – Adelaide Crows
3 – North Melbourne
2 – GWS Giants
1 – Brisbane Lions
1 – Melbourne

Who will win the competition Best and Fairest?
4 – Ellie Blackburn (Western Bulldogs)
2 – Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows)
1 – Courtney Gum (GWS Giants)
1 – Chelsea Randall (Adelaide Crows)
1 – Elise O’Dea (Melbourne)
1 – Karen Paxman (Melbourne)

Who will kick the most goals in the competition?
4 – Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows)
2 – Phoebe McWilliams (Geelong Cats)
2 – Katie Brennan (Western Bulldogs)
1 – Darcy Vescio (Carlton)
1 – Jasmine Garner (North Melbourne)

Who will win the NAB AFL Women’s Rising Star?
4 – Nina Morrison (Geelong Cats)
3 – Maddison Prespakis (Carlton)
1 – Tyla Hanks (Melbourne)
1 – Alyce Parker (GWS Giants)
1 – Jordan Allen (Collingwood)

Who will be the best player from another sport?
4 – Ash Brazill (Collingwood)
2 – Yvonne Bonner (GWS Giants)
1 – Shae Sloane (Melbourne)
1 – Chloe Dalton (Carlton)
1 – Sarah Rowe (Collingwood)
1 – Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows)