K rock Football

Team of the Year honours for Cats

Olivia Fuller was one of three Geelong players named in the VFLW Team of the Year. (Sports Media Image/Marcel Berens)

A TRIO of Geelong stars has been rewarded for helping the Cats to the abandoned VFLW Grand Final with selection in the competition’s Team of the Year.

AFLW listed youngster Laura Gardiner was named on the wing, while Geelong’s pre-draft mature-age selections Olivia Fuller (ruck) and vice-captain Claudia Gunjaca (interchange) were also selected.

Gunjaca finished fourth in the Lambert-Pearce Medal along with fellow Cat Olivia Barber.

Both polled nine votes, eight behind winner Georgia Nanscawen from Essendon on 17.

Draft hopeful Jackson McLachlan was the lone Cat named in the VFL Team of the Year.

McLachlan, who was nominated for the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal, was named on a half-forward flank.

Former Geelong AFL player James Parsons, who was aligned to GFL club South Barwon this year, was selected on the other half-forward flank.

Werribee duo Matt Lobbe (ruck) and Matt Hansen (interchange) were also part of the side.

Long-serving Tigers’ CEO Mark Penaluna was honoured for his service to the VFL with life membership.

Twitter: @tom_king79