K rock Football

Falcons final squad confirmed

AHEAD of its 2021 NAB League Boys season opener, the Geelong Falcons have finalised a 50-member squad.

To be coached by former Geelong midfielder and Essendon assistant coach Paul Corrigan, the Falcons travel to Wendouree on Thursday night for a clash with the GWV Rebels.

Forty-nine members of this year’s squad were set to be part of the program ahead of the cancelled 2020 season, with South Barwon’s Josh O’Dwyer the only addition.

Gennaro Bove has been appointed captain, with Charlie Brauer his deputy.

The squad includes potential Geelong father-son selection Will Kilpatrick (son of Glenn) and Macklan Lord (grandson of 1962 Brownlow medallist Alistair Lord).

There are also five brothers of currently AFL-listed players; Charlie Ham (Brayden, Essendon), Indi Parish (Darcy, Essendon), Sam Witherden (Alex, West Coast), Joel Fleeton (Cam, GWS Giants) and Henry Walsh (Sam, Carlton).

However, Walsh, who was overlooked in last year’s National Draft, will remain with GFL club St Joseph’s for the moment.

“He’ll play the initial part of the season at Joeys and see how he’s going there,” Corrigan said.

“We’ll always leave the door open for guys like that and other players in local leagues that may not even be on our list at the moment but show potential throughout the year.

“He’ll play the early rounds with Joeys, and we’ll see how his form holds up, and we’ll support him however we can.”

Blake Reid (femur), Noah Gadsby (foot), Max Annandale (hip/groin) and Mitch Langan (broken wrist) also won’t be considered for selection in the early rounds.

Bove, Noah Gribble and Archie Hildebrandt have been training with VFL club Werribee and are all likely to get an opportunity with the Tigers this year.

Twitter: @tom_king79


Noah Allen Birregurra
Max Annandale Queenscliff
Oscar Barrow Colac
Luke Bartolo St Mary’s
Gennaro Bove Newtown & Chilwell
Charlie Brauer Barwon Heads
Darcy Brown Bell Park
Angus Codd Newtown & Chilwell
Toby Conway St Mary’s
Rory Diamond Newtown & Chilwell
Nicholas Duncan Lara
Alex Dunn Newtown & Chilwell
Joel Edwards St Joseph’s
Caleb Ezard St Mary’s
Joel Fleeton Geelong West Giants
Brady Ferguson Grovedale
Noah Gadsby Torquay
Noah Gribble Newtown & Chilwell
Charlie Ham Torquay
Archie Hilderbrandt Barwon Heads
Euriah Hollard Newtown & Chilwell
Lachlan Hood Grovedale
Mathew Keast St Mary’s
Lachlan Kidd Queenscliff
William Kilpatrick Drysdale
Mitchell Knevitt Grovedale
Mitchell Langan St Joseph’s
Chase Loftus Torquay
Macklan Lord Gisborne
Zac Mirkovic Bell Park
Oscar Morrison St Joseph’s
Finn Murphy Torquay
Alistair O’Donnell St Joseph’s
Josh O’Dwyer South Barwon
Connor O’Meara Lara
Tanner Owen St Joseph’s
Indiana Parish Grovedale
Blake Reid Newtown & Chilwell
Chris Seymour Grovedale
Kyle Skene Newtown & Chilwell
Josh Sorgiovanni St Mary’s
Billy Spicer Grovedale
Jak Tute Grovedale
Patrick Visentin St Mary’s
Henry Walsh St Joseph’s
Trey Wheadon Colac
Cooper Whyte Grovedale
Oliver Wiltshire Barwon Heads
Sam Witherden Barwon Heads
Flynn Young Newtown & Chilwell