K rock Football

Star Saint romps to Mathieson

HARRY Benson has become St Mary’s first Mathieson medallist in more than a decade in the most emphatic of fashions.

The 22-year-old midfielder polled a staggering 26 of a possible 33 votes to register a nine-vote win over St Joseph’s star Jordan Keras on 17.

Teenage sensation Tom Gillett, who won the GFL goalkicking with 42 goals, finished third on 14 votes.

He also claimed Rookie of the Year honours earlier in the evening.

Benson, whose vote tally would have won every Mathieson since 2010 bar the last two, averaged 35.5 disposals per game and earned votes in 10 of the 11 rounds played, including seven best-on-ground efforts.

When voting went live with six of the 11 rounds remaining, Benson, who also won the K rock MVP award, had 13 votes to his name, five clear of Gillett and Leopold captain Sam Scott on eight.

Leopold captain Sam Scott, 2016 winner Nathan Deans, Lara spearhead Mitch Day and Colac star Brody Mahoney were one vote further back on seven.

However, nobody would get closer than five votes for the rest of the night.

After polling one vote in the draw with Newtown & Chilwell in Round 6, Benson was again best-on-ground against Bell Park in Round 10.

That was followed by consecutive two-vote performances against Geelong West and St Albans, which took him to 20 votes and ensured he became the first Saint since Ben Lavars in 2010 to win the medal.

At that point, Gillett was next best on 13 votes.

Benson finished the season in style with consecutive three-vote efforts, including in the minor premiership-deciding clash with Colac in what proved to be the final home-and-away round.

It was in that match a tackle he laid on Jake McGuane that left the Tiger great concussed. The incident was scrutinised by the AFL Barwon Match Review Panel, who gave it the all-clear.

Back-to-back best-on-grounds from Keras in the final two rounds saw him leapfrog Gillett into second spot.

St Mary’s skipper Jack Blood claimed fourth on 13 votes, with Scott and Bell Park counterpart Lachie Patten sharing fifth spot on 11 votes.

In other awards, St Joseph’s duo Jarred Jans and Lachie Devine shared the Jim & Bill Allthorpe Medal as reserve grade best-and-fairest, Chris Jones was named the K rock Umpire of the Year, Joeys star Brant Haintz claimed the Geelong Advertiser Player of the Year.

Twitter: @tom_king79



Lachie Patten 11
Jackson Bright 5
Luke Goetz 4
Jackson Sheringham 3
Christian Buykx-Smith 2
Will Christie 2
Aiden Domic 2
Jack Sarcevic 2
Jack Hall 1
Wade McSparron 1


Lochie Veale 8
Brody Mahoney 7
Adam Garner 6
Joffy Simpkin 6
Kody Spokes 5
Zach Zdybel 4
Darcy Lang 3
Ben McCarthy 3
Liam McCarthy 3
Ryan Monaghan 3
Dean Felekos 2
Jake McGuane 2
Kane Smartt 2
Leigh Gorwell 1
Jarryn McCormack 1
Jack Melican 1


Jayden Symes 8
Ethan Liddle 4
Emmanuel Ajang 3
Michael Banister 3
Jye Bohm 3
David Handley 3
Lachie Handley 3
Phillip Moimoi 3
Scott Frangos 2
Max Kelly 2
David Peel 2
Jacob Heron 1
Grady Slocombe 1
Lachie Taylor 1


Tom Gillett 14
Nathan Deans 10
Ryan Abbott 5
Harrison Whyte 3
Mitch Chafer 2
Mitch Knevitt 2
William Ford 1


Mitch Day 7
Aaron Stone 3
Daniel Green 2
Daniel Weigl 2
Jake Marshall 1
Connor O’Meara 1


Sam Scott 11
Trent West 6
Brock Williamson 5
Marcus Thompson 2
Trent Thompson 2
Lucas Boyd 1
Riley Hayden 1
Fletcher Wilson 1


Matt McMahon 10
Blake Sutterby 8
Matt Boag 5
David Fanning 3
Lachie Bond 2
Zach Walter 2
Michael Condy 1
Mitch Diamond 1
Will Robinson 1
Jai Sheahan 1


Jason Davenport 3
Nick Dixon 3
Tyrone Vickery 3
Jo Salmon 2
Jacob Miljevic 1


Andrew Boseley 10
Luke Davis 9
Doyle Madigan 6
Michael Luxford 5
Matthew Caldow 3
Oliver Lee 3
Benjamin Lusby 3
James Syddall 2
Jonty Broughton 1
Brandon Verfurth 1


Patrick Barber 1
Damon Hemphill 1
Andrew Higgins 1
Mitch Hovey 1


Jordan Keras 17
Cam Tudor 6
Reid Adams 3
James Gow 2
Brant Haintz 2
Cal Mitchell 2
Luke Webb 2
Lewis Antonac 1
Felix Henderson-Burch 1
Alex Hickey 1
Jackson McLachlan 1
Henry Walsh 1


Harry Benson 26
Jack Blood 13
Nick Nott 4
Ben Moloney 3
Charlie Sprague 3
Harry McMahon 2
Paddy Dowling 1
Trent McMullan 1