K rock Football

Finch claims a slice of history

Modewarre great Josh Finch. (Sports Media Image/Marcel Berens)

JOSH Finch is within striking distance of another piece of local football history in the Geelong region after claiming Modewarre’s 2021 best-and-fairest.

Finch’s victory has seen the four-time Ash medalist join East Belmont/Belmont Lions legend Rod Dubbeldam as the only players across the BFL, GDFL and GFL to win eight best-and-fairest awards at the one club.

The 34-year-old will play on next year, leaving the door open to go past Dubbeldam.

In beating equal runners-up Jeremy Ollis and Cal Farrell for the award, the 270-game veteran went past some of the greatest names in local football history.

Among those to win their club best-and-fairest on seven occasions are North Shore icon Gordon Hynes, revered St Albans figure Ron Osborne, Anakie great Noel Robertson and Corio gun Ricky O’Toole.

Recently retired North Geelong midfielder Derek Fitzsimmons and Inverleigh ball magnet Clayton Trotter were also seven-time winners.

Both Fitzsimmons and Trotter claimed two best-and-fairest awards at Anakie.On seven occasions,

On seven occasions, David Terrier was the best at Winchelsea during its stint in the Polwart League, which acted as a forerunner to the Bellarine.


Dubbeldam also won a best-and-fairest at Newcomb, while Hynes was a two-time winner at North Geelong before being lured up Melbourne Road to Windsor Park.

O’Toole is in rare company with Thomson and Ocean Grove great Phil Stringer to win double-figure best-and-fairest awards in their local career.

As well as seven at the Devils, O’Toole won twice at St Joseph’s and one at Newcomb and East Geelong.

He is also the only player to have an Ash, Mathieson, and Whitley medal in his collection.

Stringer won 12 best-and-fairest gongs, with six apiece at Thomson and Ocean Grove.

Alan Woodman won ten best-and-fairest awards with clubs in the Geelong region, with the former Cats ruck claiming honours at Bannockburn, St Albans, Grovedale and Anglesea.

He also won two at Winchelsea when the Blues were in the Colac and District League.

*Story has been written based on the most accurate records available.

Twitter: @tom_king79


  • 8 – Josh Finch (Modewarre)
  • 8 – Rod Dubbledam (East Belmont/Belmont Lions)
  • 7 – Gordon Hynes (North Shore)
  • 7 – Ron Osborne (St Albans)
  • 7 – Ricky O’Toole (Corio)
  • 7 – Clayton Trotter (Inverleigh)
  • 7 – Derek Fitzsimmons (North Geelong)
  • 7 – David Terrier (Winchelsea – Polwarth League)