K rock Football

VFL set for April start

Geelong VFL player Jackson McLachlan. (krockfootball.com.au Image/Marcel Berens)

GEELONG will start its campaign in the new-look VFL competition in mid-April.

The Cats are one of 22 teams from across Victoria, NSW and Queensland that will contest a 16-game season across 19 rounds.

Starting on April 17, the VFL will feature a top-eight with the grand final scheduled for the weekend of September 18-19

The fixture is expected to be released by the end of February.

Twitter: @tom_king79

Standalone Clubs: Aspley, Coburg, Frankston, Northern Bullants, Port Melbourne, Southport, Werribee, Williamstown
Standalone AFL Clubs: Brisbane Lions, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Footscray, Geelong Cats, Gold Coast SUNS, GWS GIANTS, North Melbourne, Richmond, Sydney Swans
Aligned Clubs: Sandringham, Box Hill Hawks, Casey Demons