K rock Football

Cats unveil VFL squad

Aaron Black flies for a mark for Geelong’s VFL team in 2019. (Sports Media Image/Marcel Berens)

GEELONG has revealed its list ahead of next week’s start to the VFL season.

To again be coached by Shane O’Bree. the Cats have confirmed a 34-man squad, including former Geelong AFL-listed players Aaron Black, Ryan Abbott, Darcy Lang and Jackson Thurlow.

Abbott, Lang and Thurlow all played at AFL level last year, with Abbott retiring after a year at St Kilda, and Lang and Thurlow delisted by Carlton and Sydney, respectively.

Those on the list yet to pull on the Hoops at VFL level include St Mary’s duo Charlie Sprague and Jye Chalcraft, former Williamstown player Ollie Tate, who will have Leopold as his interchange club, and fellow Lions Tom Feely, Liam Herbert and Mitch Burgess.

Bell Park trio Isaac Wareham, Will Christie and Ben Worme have also locked down a spot, as has Grovedale young gun Lachie Smith, St Joseph’s Nick Burke and recent Newtown & Chilwell signing Liam Fiore.

Fellow Eagle Angus McKay has also been included despite suffering a knee injury during a practice match in late March.

Ballarat league duo Jed Hill (Sebastapol) and Jordan Johnston (East Point) are among the signings from outside the AFL Barwon region.

The Cats will also carry three NAB League players on their list; Geelong Falcons duo Charlie Brauer (Barwon Heads) and Charlie Ham (St Mary’s), and Marcus Herbert from the GWV Rebels.

Geelong has its final practice match this Saturday at Deakin Uni against Collingwood ahead of a Round 1 meeting with North Melbourne at GMHBA Stadium on April 18.

That match will be a curtain-raiser to the Cats-Ross AFL clash.

Twitter: @tom_king79


48. Aaron Black – Modewarre
49. Ryan Abbott – Grovedale
50. Daniel Capiron – St Joseph’s
51. Trent McMullan – St Mary’s
52. Jackson McLachlan – St Joseph’s
53. Charlie Sprague – St Mary’s
54. Oliver Tate – Leopold
55. Luke Smith – Bell Park
56. Will Christie – Bell Park
57. Jye Chalcraft – St Mary’s
58. Darcy Lang – Colac
59. Ned Harris – Newtown & Chilwell
60. Nicholas Burke – St Joseph’s
61. Charlie Ham – Geelong Falcons/St Mary’s
62. Marcus Herbert – GWV Rebels/South Warrnambool
63. Benjamin Worme – Bell Park
64. Charlie Wilson – Bell Park
65. Angus McKay – Newtown & Chilwell
66. Jackson Thurlow – TBC
67. Zach Walter – Newtown & Chilwell
68. Tom Feely – Leopold
69. Jed Hill – Sebastapol
70. Liam Herbert – Leopold
71. Jordan Johnston – East Point
72. Adam Garner – Colac
73. Zach Zdybel – Colac
74. James Gow – St Joseph’s
75. Callum Mitchell – St Joseph’s
76. Mitch Burgess – Leopold
77. Charlie Brauer – Geelong Falcons/Barwon Heads
78. Isaac Wareham – Bell Park
79. Lachlan Smith – Grovedale
80. Liam Fiore – Newtown & Chilwell
81. Angus Byrne – Echuca