K rock Football

Cats release VFL squad

Colac big man Zach Zdybel flies high for a mark in the Tigers’ first semi-final win over Bell Park at Simonds Stadium. (krockfootball.com.au/Al Packer)

FRESH GFL talent will get the chance press their claims for a spot on the 2018 Geelong VFL list.

Team of the Year members Jay Lever (South Barwon), Jackson McLachlan and Jackson Davis (both St Joseph’s) have all received training invites, as have Bell Park’s Kyle O’Connor, Newtown & Chilwell’s Mitch Diamond, St Mary’s Tom Lang, Lever’s Swans teammates Jonty Broughton and Ethan Baker, and talented Colac duo Luke Hillman and Zach Zdybel.

VFL: Cats set to lose home game

Both Lever and Davis have previous VFL experience.

Lever played 22 games with Sandringham during two years on St Kilda’s list, while Davis spent time with Werribee before joining Joeys in 2015.

They’re among 29 new faces in the 52-man squad, which also includes eight graduating Geelong Falcons who may look to Kardinia Park to continue their football journey if not drafted by an AFL club later this month.

Newtown & Chilwell recruits Will Robinson and Jy Lane are among those from outside the AFL Barwon region hoping to wear the Hoops in 2018.

An induction evening will held for new players next Wednesday before training commences on November 20.

Twitter: @tom_king79


Adam Garner Geelong Falcons/Colac
Alex Hickey* St Joseph’s
Angus Schumacher Bendigo Pioneers
Ben Moloney* St Joseph’s
Ben Reid* Grovedale
Callum Mitchell* St Joseph’s
Campbell Floyd* Colac
Cooper Jones Bendigo Pioneers
Cooper Stephens Geelong Falcons/Colac
Damon Hemphill Yarrawonga
Dan Capiron* St Joseph’s
David Handley Geelong Falcons/Geelong West Giants
Ethan Baker South Barwon
Ethan Floyd Geelong Falcons/Colac
Harry Benson Geelong Falcons/St Mary’s
Harry Kol* St Mary’s
Jack Blood* St Mary’s
Jack Henderson Geelong Falcons/Deniliquin
Jackson Davis St Joseph’s
Jackson McLachlan St Joseph’s
James Gow* Koroit/Bell Park
James Tsitas* Grovedale
Jay Lever South Barwon
Joel Bennett* Geelong West Giants
Jono Arcoraci* North Shore
Jonty Broughton South Barwon
Josh Fowkes Navarre
Josh Guthire* Sunbury
Josh Jaska Geelong Falcons/Anglesea/St Mary’s
Jy Lane Murray Bushrangers
Kyle O’Connor Bell Park
Lachlan Noble Geelong Falcons/South Barwon
Lochlan Dhurrkay Northern Territory
Lockey McCartney* Newtown & Chilwell
Luke Hillman Colac
Luke Kiel North Ballarat
Luke Webb* St Joseph’s
Marcus Thompson* Leopold
Mitch Diamond Newtown & Chilwell
Mitch Patten* Leopold
Nathan Horbury Redan
Nick Stuhldreier Western Jets
Pat Dowling* St Mary’s
Raven Marika Northern Territory
Sam Dobson* St Mary’s
Sam McLachlan* Colac
Tom Atkins* St Joseph’s
Tom Lang St Mary’s
Trent McMullan* St Mary’s
Will Robinson Corowa-Rutherglen
Will Sexton* South Barwon
Zach Zdybel Colac
*2017 listed player
  • 239