Waralilly Leaderboard
K rock Football


Geelong Amateur (2nd) vs. Barwon Heads (3rd)

Ron Evans Oval – Portarlington Recreation Reserve

Saturday, August 20, 2:10pm

A QUALIFYING final battle between two clubs with contrasting fortunes. Geelong Amateur starts its finals campaign chasing a fourth consecutive premiership, while Barwon Heads has designs on ending a 24-year premiership drought. To put the Seagulls’ run of outs into perspective, when they they last saluted in 1993, Ammos were still 18 months away from joining the BFL. This year’s two meetings have also thrown up contrasting results. In front of a big crowd on Easter Saturday, Barwon Heads came out on top by 25 points, with playing co-coach Mitch Herbison and Dylan Holland both kicking three goals in Geelong great Corey Enright’s first game for the club. With the Cats in action on Saturday afternoon at the MCG, Enright is set to be missing from the Seagulls’ line-up, as he was when Ammos grabbed a 15-point come-from-behind win in Round 16. On that afternoon, Amateur stormed home with a five-goal-to-one final quarter to claim victory. Ammos will welcome back some key names that sat out their final round win over Portarlington, including co-coach Jarrod Young, small forward Jarrod Westwood and defender Daniel Ladgrove. They will also be hoping forward trio Matt Walsh, Damien Zaparenkov and Hugh Hunter are right. Between them they have kicked 88 goals and provide crucial support for league leading goal kicker Mitch Day. Barwon Heads took close to its best 22 into last week’s final round loss to Torquay, but will be keen to get back Holland and co-coach Bobby Wallace. Holland has kicked 31 goals, second only to Herbison. Former Geelong rookie Bryn Weadon will also come under consideration after returning through the reserves against Torquay.

2017 Meetings: Round 3 – Barwon Heads 12.8 (80) def. Geelong Amateur 8.7 (55) @ Howard Harmer Oval

Round 16 – Geelong Amateur 14.6 (90) def. Barwon Heads 10.15 (75) @ Queens Park

Prediction: Geelong Amateur by 22 points