K rock Football

Falcons unveil Boys squads

Geelong Falcons coach Paul Corrigan speaks to his players during the 2021 season. (Sports Media Image/Marcel Berens)

GEELONG Falcons have settled on a squad of 52 for the NAB League Boys season, which starts next month.

With the age group reverting to under-18s, the list has taken on a new look, with only 16 players returning from 2021.

“We had 80 invited into training through pre-season that we had a look at,” coach Paul Corrigan said.

“It’s always tough to bring that squad down, but we’re pretty pleased with what we’ve got.

“We think we’ve got a fair variety amongst our turning 17 and turning 18 year-olds.

“We’re carrying over five 19-year-olds as well.”

Those 19-year-olds include reigning GFL leading goalkicker and rookie of the year Tom Gillett, who kicked seven goals from five appearances after being added to the Falcons’squad mid-season.

Among the new faces are Osca Riccardi, who is eligible to be a father-son selection with Geelong, with dad Peter playing 288 games with the Cats.

“He’s an outside player with plenty of pace, and he makes good decisions on the outside,” Corrigan said.

“What we like about him is that he’s very composed, but he also breaks the lines and takes the game on.

“We felt with those sort of traits, he can help our strength on the inside.

“His pre-season was really impressive, which warrants his selection in the squad.”

The under-16 squad has also been named, with Noah Caracella, son of former Essendon, Brisbane Lions and Collingwood star Blake, among the squad of 32.

The Falcons under-18 season starts on the first weekend of April, with draft fixtures showing a clash with the Gold Coast Academy at Highgate Reserve in Craigieburn on April 3 as the opening match.



Thomas Anastasopoulos Newtown & Chilwell
Jacob Assemani St Joseph’s
Will Baker Queenscliff
Tom Bartlett Modewarre
Lincoln Birley South Barwon
Ethan Borys Grovedale
Sol Bowtell St Joseph’s
Thomas Burke Torquay
Mackenzie Butcher St Mary’s
Flynn Chirgwin St Mary’s
Jhye Clark Queenscliff
Ted Clohesy St Joseph’s
Joel Cooper Torquay
Finn Cornell Barwon Heads
Zekiah Davey Lara
Nicholas Dowling St Mary’s
Banjo Dyer Torquay
Tadgh Evans Lara
Miles Gray Torquay
Angus Hastie Geelong West Giants
Cooper Hayes Geelong Amateurs
Felix Henderson-Burch St Joseph’s
Patrick Hughes Torquay
Liam Kershaw St Joseph’s
Jet Kneebone Ocean Grove
Hunter Lewis St Joseph’s
George McCulloch Geelong Grammar
Jai McGough St Mary’s
Xavier Muhor St Joseph’s
Oscar Murdoch Newtown & Chilwell
Tobyn Murray Colac
Charlie Nelson Geelong Grammar
Olivier Northam St Joseph’s
Reef Page Torquay
Will Parkhouse Colac
Tom Pierce South Barwon
Hamish Pierson Geelong Grammar
Joe Pike Barwon Heads
Kane Reid Newtown & Chilwell
Osca Riccardi Newtown & Chilwell
Michael Rudd St Mary’s
Willem Sanders Newtown & Chilwell
Archie Sinnot Newtown & Chilwell
Charlie Vallelonga St Mary’s
Harry Wall Leopold
Malachi White St Joseph’s
Brady Ferguson* Grovedale
Tom Gillet* Grovedale
Chase Loftus* Torquay
Euriah Hollard* Newtown & Chilwell
Angus Codd* Newtown & Chilwell



Harley Anderson Geelong Amateur
Noah Caracella Newtown & Chilwell
Leigham Elzinga Bannockburn
Oliver Flynn St Mary’s
Thomas Gorell Geelong Amateur
Joel Grisby Newtown & Chilwell
Brady Hall Colac
Angus Hanley Torquay
Ike Hardman Anglesea
Jack Henderson Barwon Heads
James Hose Bannockburn
Xavier Ivisic Geelong Amateur
Lachie Jacques St Mary’s
Tom Kiddle Geelong Amateur
Hudson Maddalena Newtown & Chilwell
Oliver Maddalena Torquay
Marley McCombe St Joseph’s
Zac McInnes St Joseph’s
Lachlan McLean Leopold
Jett Modola Newtown & Chilwell
Tyler Monahan Queenscliff
William Montebello Torquay
Angus Morrison St Joseph’s
Jude Payne East Geelong
Oliver Peake St Mary’s
Raphael Salvado Geelong Amateur
Josh Sanders Lara
Will Smith Leopold
Kye Smith St Joseph’s
Noah Tullio Newtown & Chilwell
Cooper Ward-Devlyn St Joseph’s