K rock Football

Tiger two named top coaches

ROWAN McSparron and Kane Leersen have been rewarded for guiding Colac to its first GFL minor premiership by being named coaches of the GFL Coaches’ Team of the Year.

The Tigers finished the home-and-away season with 16 wins after stringing together a 13-match unbeaten streak from Round 6 onwards.

Colac was well represented in the final 22, with four players – Adam Garner, Luke Hillman, Campbell Floyd and Jarryn McCormack – selected.

However, star midfielder Jonathan Simpkin was a surprise omission.

St Joseph’s also had four players included, with South Barwon next best with three despite missing the finals.

Swans spearhead and GFL leading goalkicker Andrew Boseley was honoured with the captaincy.

Just four players – Hillman, Leopold duo Marcus Thompson and Trent West, and St Mary’s defender Ryley Hall – returned from 2018.

Lara and Grovedale were the only clubs not to have a representative in the team.

Twitter: @tom_king79
Email: [email protected]