K rock Football

GFL names 36-man squad

St Albans recruit Sam Michael in action during a practice match against Newtown & Chilwell. (krockfootball.com.au Image/Marcel Berens)

GFL coach Clinton Wells has unveiled a streamlined 36-man training squad ahead of next month’s 1v2 interleague clash with Northern.

Despite losing last year’s 1v2 match at Etihad Stadium, Geelong will have a quicker-than-expected chance to regain the No.1 ranking with Eastern choosing not to participate in the AFL Victoria Community Championships in 2019.

Among the newcomers to the GFL named in the squad are Luke Smith and Charlie Wilson (Bell Park), Josh Saunders (South Barwon) and Sam Michael (St Albans).

13 players return from last year’s team: Jai and Marcus Thompson, Brant Haintz, Jackson Davis, Luke Hillman, Ryan Monaghan, Tom Ruggles, Zac Morison, Jack Blood, Brenton Rees, Lucas Anderson, Cam Tudor and dual Mathieson medallist Matt McMahon.

Training commences on Tuesday night at Deakin University’s Elite Sports Precinct, with the meeting against Northern scheduled for May 18 at Queen’s Park.

Twitter: @tom_king79


Name Club
Aiden Domic Bell Park
Luke Rounds Bell Park
Luke Smith Bell Park
Charlie Wilson Bell Park
Campbell Floyd Colac
Luke Hillman Colac
Jarryn McCormack Colac
Jack Melican Colac
Ryan Monaghan Colac
Jonathan Simpkin Colac
Lochie Veale Colac
Lochie Huppatz Geelong West
Cam Delaney Grovedale
Tom Gordon Leopold
Tom Ruggles Leopold
Jai Thompson Leopold
Marcus Thompson Leopold
Alex Cincotta Newtown & Chilwell
Matt McMahon Newtown & Chilwell
Nick Dixon North Shore
Andrew Boseley South Barwon
Louis Herbert South Barwon
Josh Saunders South Barwon
Sam Michael St Albans
Lucas Anderson St Joseph’s
Jackson Davis St Joseph’s
Riley Ferguson St Joseph’s
Brant Haintz St Joseph’s
Jackson McLachlan St Joseph’s
Brenton Rees St Joseph’s
Cam Tudor St Joseph’s
Zac Morison St Joseph’s
Jack Blood St Mary’s
Paddy Dowling St Mary’s
Jarryd Garner St Mary’s
Ryley Hall St Mary’s