K rock Football

Tigers, Hawks dominate GDFL squad

Thomson’s Matt Baden and Inverleigh’s James Huybens have both been named in the initial GDFL Interleague squad. (krockfootball.com.au Image/Marcel Berens)

REIGNING grand finalists Thomson and Inverleigh have dominated selections in the initial GDFL squad ahead of next month’s AFL Victoria Community Championships clash against the Bellarine.

Nine players have been included from the Tigers and Hawks, including Thomson recruits Jarrod Westwood and Luke Forbes, and new Inverleigh coach Adam Donohue.

Other newcomers to the GDFL who have done enough through the opening two rounds to be part of the 52-man squad include Anakie duo Dan Weigl and Daniel Green, Bannockburn pair Tom Gillies and Alex Hyslop, Geelong West’s Aidan Cole, Inverleigh’s Josh Bouwman, North Geelong coach Ayden George, Werribee Centrals’ midfielder Matt Miller, and Winchelsea trio Leigh Ellis, Adam Stirling and Dylan Williams.

The Raiders train for the first time on Wednesday, April 24 at Bell Post Hill.

The clash with the BFL will be played at Queen’s Park on May 18.

Twitter: @tom_king79


Name Club
Daniel Green Anakie
Dan Weigl Anakie
Luke Wilson Anakie
Jack Brauman Bannockburn
Kieran Fulton Bannockburn
Tom Gillies Bannockburn
Alex Hyslop Bannockburn
Matt Tyquin Bannockburn
Adrian Fantella Bell Post Hill
Matt James Bell Post Hill
Beau McNamara Bell Post Hill
Daniel Bannister Belmont Lions
Mikali Harrison Belmont Lions
Dylan Witney Belmont Lions
Blake Hutchinson Corio
Jacob Ngwati East Geelong
Cam Addie Geelong West Giants
Alex Blair Geelong West Giants
Aidan Cole Geelong West Giants
Paddy Dwyer Geelong West Giants
Michael Leamer Geelong West Giants
Brayden Mitchell Geelong West Giants
Justin Baxter Inverleigh
Michael Best Inverleigh
Josh Bouwman Inverleigh
Adam Donohue Inverleigh
Michael Grozdanovski Inverleigh
James Huybens Inverleigh
Rob Logue Inverleigh
Nathan Mayes Inverleigh
Casey Meehan Inverleigh
Corey Ellmer North Geelong
Ayden George North Geelong
Matt Baden Thomson
Paul Davis Thomson
Daniel Freeman Thomson
Luke Forbes Thomson
Reece Holwell Thomson
Sam Jacka Thomson
Travis McGuire Thomson
Jackson Macleod Thomson
Jarrod Westwood Thomson
Nick Bauld Werribee Centrals
Matt Miller Werribee Centrals
Tito Nyawela Werribee Centrals
Jackson Smith Werribee Centrals
Leigh Ellis Winchelsea
Joe Fama Winchelsea
Will Ford Winchelsea
Alex Gubbins Winchelsea
Adam Stirling Winchelsea
Dylan Williams Winchelsea