K rock Football

BFL names forward guns

Anglesea forward Jordan Erskine. (Sports Media Image/Marcel Berens)


BELLARINE coach Mark Hildebrandt has confirmed he will take power forward trio Jordan Erskine (Anglesea), Mitch Day (Geelong Amateur) and Jarrod Garth into Saturday’s highly-anticipated interleague clash with Geelong and District at Queen’s Park.

Hildebrandt has wasted no time finalising his 23 following last weekend’s round of home-and-away matches, with the Sharks to train twice this week.

Erskine leads the BFL goal kicking with 35 goals from six games, Day has 17, and Garth from three appearances after being sidelined for three weeks with an ankle issue.

“We’ll play one at full-forward, one at centre half-forward, and will come off the bench and help out,” Hildebrandt told krockfootball.com.au.

“They all want to play, which is absolutely fantastic. On a big ground, there’ll be separation, so they’ll be pretty hard to match-up on, I’d imagine.

“And they’re smart players, these big boys. And they’ve got some good little blokes around them.

“They’re going to have space to move, and a lot of one-on-one match-ups, which will suit us.”

Modewarre great Josh Finch has been named captain, with Queenscliff star Dan Gibbs his deputy.

Hildebrandt was unable to consider the likes of Barwon Heads co-coach Mitch Herbison, Ocean Grove captain James Linton and Drysdale speedster Lauchie Dalgleish due to injury.

Saturday’s match starts at 11:50am.

Twitter: @tom_king79


Jackson Bews – Anglesea
Ash Caldwell – Anglesea
Jordan Erskine – Anglesea
Dylan Holland – Barwon Heads
Zac Walter – Barwon Heads
Jarrod Garth – Drysdale
Chris Lynch – Drysdale
Mitch McGuire – Drysdale
Mitch Day – Geelong Amateur
Patrick Killen – Geelong Amateur
Wade McSparron – Geelong Amateur
Matt Farrelly – Modewarre
Morgan Fenton – Modewarre
Josh Finch (c) – Modewarre
John Meesen – Modewarre
Logan Wagener – Newcomb
James Hussey – Newcomb
Logan Taylor – Ocean Grove
Dan Measures – Portarlington
Che Durran – Queenscliff
Daniel Gibbs (vc) – Queenscliff
Paul Burchell – Torquay
Billy Henderson – Torquay