K rock Football

Cats name draftees in AFLX squad

Geelong draftee Gryan Miers. (krockfootball.com.au/Al Packer)

DRAFTEES Tim Kelly, Lachie Fogarty and Gryan Miers are among the 18-man Geelong squad for Thursday night’s first official running of the format.

The Cats have named an 18-man squad, however a host experienced players won’t be making the trip to the City of Churches for the seven-a-side matches against Port Adelaide and Fremantle at Hindmarsh Stadium.

Gary Ablett’s first appearance in the Hoops since late 2010 is likely to come in the JLT Series, while captain Joel Selwood and star midfielder Patrick Dangerfield will also remain home.

Kelly, Fogarty and Miers have been rewarded for solid starts to their AFL careers after arriving at GMHBA Stadium in November.

Each team can take 10 players into a match, with changes allowed to be made between games.

Twitter: @tom_king79


3 Brandan Parfitt
10 Daniel Menzel
11 Tim Kelly
12 Wylie Buzza
13 Lachie Fogarty
21 Jordan Murdoch
22 Mitch Duncan
23 Aaron Black
24 Jed Bews
26 Tom Hawkins
27 Sam Menegola
31 Jordan Cunico
32 Gryan Miers
34 James Parsons
39 Zach Guthrie
40 Jackson Thurlow
44 Tom Stewart
46 Mark Blicavs



  • 60